Contact Us

For general questions, call 701-231-8400 or email ndepscor@ndus.edu.
The ND EPSCoR State Office is located in the Research 2 building, Suite 102.

Physical/shipping address:
ND EPSCoR State Office
1805 NDSU Research Park Dr N
Fargo, ND 58102

Mailing/billing address:
ND EPSCoR State Office
NDSU Dept. 4450
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050

ND EPSCoR State Office Contacts

Executive Director
Kelly A. Rusch, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
kelly.rusch@ndsu.edu
(701)231-8093

State Project Administrator
Jean Ostrom-Blonigen, Ph.D., CPA
jean.ostrom@ndus.edu
(701) 231-7516

STEM Manager
Shireen Alemadi, MS
shireen.alemadi@ndus.edu
701-231-8264

Administrative Coordinator
Megan Even, MA
megan.even@ndus.edu
(701) 231-8400

Tribal Colleges and Universities Liaison and Nurturing American Tribal Undergraduate Research and Education (NATURE) Manager
Scott Hanson, Ph.D.
scott.martin.hanson@ndus.edu
(701)231-8606

Communication Manager
Cailin Shovkoplyas, MBA
cailin.shovkoplyas@ndus.edu
(701) 231-8109

Business Manager
Janelle Smith, MBA
janelle.smith@ndus.edu
(701)231-1048

Senior Project Assistant
Kathleen Wahlberg, MBA
kathleen.wahlberg@ndus.edu
(701)231-8618

Nurturing American Tribal Undergraduate Research and Education (NATURE)

Nurturing American Tribal Undergraduate Research and Education (NATURE) is a North Dakota EPSCoR sponsored education outreach project. NATURE aims to improve science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education among North Dakota tribal college and high school students and to build a pathway for the pursuit of careers in STEM disciplines. NATURE programming includes the University Summer Camp, Tribal College Summer Camp, and Sunday Academy.

NATURE University/College Contacts

ND EPSCoR Tribal Colleges and Universities Liaison and NATURE Manager
Scott M. Hanson, Ph.D.
North Dakota State University
Dept. 4450, PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
(701) 231-8606
scott.martin.hanson@ndus.edu

Co-Coordinator of NATURE Sunday Academy
Julia Bowsher, Ph.D.
North Dakota State University
Department of Biological Sciences
Stevens 325
Fargo, ND 58105
(701) 231-7072
julia.bowsher@ndsu.edu

Co-Coordinator of NATURE Sunday Academy
Britt Heidinger, Ph.D.
North Dakota State University
Department of Biological Sciences
Stevens 225
Fargo, ND 58105
(701) 231-5377
britt.heidinger@ndsu.edu

Associate Coordinator of NATURE University Summer Camp at UND
Tyson Jeannotte, MS,Environmental Engineer
North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality

Associate Coordinator of NATURE University Summer Camp at NDSU
Uwe Burghaus, Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
North Dakota State University
Ladd 202
Fargo, ND 58105
(701) 231-9742
uwe.burghaus@ndsu.edu

Cankdeska Cikana Community College (CCCC)Site Coordinator - NATURE
Chris Dahlen, Registrar
214 1st Avenue
PO Box 269
Fort Totten, ND 58335
(701) 766-1335 | Fax: 701-766-4077
chris.dahlen@littlehoop.edu
Geographic area: Spirit Lake Reservation

Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College (NHSC) Site Coordinator - NATURE
Kerry Hartman, Ph.D., Academic Dean, Chair Sciences
220 8th Ave. N.
New Town, ND 58763
 (701) 627-4738, Ext. 8053
khartm@nhscu.edu
Geographic area: Fort Berthhold Reservation

Sitting Bull College (SBC) Site Coordinator - NATURE
Mafany Ndiva Mongoh, Ph.D.,Ag & Science
9299 Hwy 24
Fort Yates, ND 58538
 (701) 854-8051
mafany.mongoh@sittingbull.edu
Geographic area: Standing Rock Reservation

Turtle Mountain Community College (TMCC) Site Coordinator - NATURE
Austin Allard, Ph.D., Pre-Engineering Instructor
10145 BIA Road 7
Belcourt, ND 58316
(701) 477-7815
aallard@tm.edu
Geographic area: Turtle Mountain Reservation

United Tribes Technical College (UTTC) Site Coordinator - NATURE
Mandy Guinn, MS, Environmental Science
and Research Chair/Instructor
3315 University Dr.
Bismarck, ND 58504
(701) 255-3285, Ext. 1322
mguinn@uttc.edu
Geographic area: Bismarck, ND

NATURE K-12 Contacts

NATURE K-12 Contacts
Bismarck Area
LeAnn Heid
NATURE K-12 contact               
Bismarck High School                             
701-220-1575
leann_heid@bismarckschools.org
 


Karla Davis
Parent/Family Liaison
Bismarck Public Schools
701-232-4800, ext. 6017
karla_davis@bismarckschools.org

Fort Berthold Area
Mandaree High School
Francine White, Site Mentor   
Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College
1 Warrior Circle
Mandaree, ND 58757
701-759-3545
fwhite@nhsc.edu
   

New Town High School
James Helphrey, Science Instructor    
New Town High School
300 Eagle Drive
New Town, ND 58763
701-627-3658
james.helphrey@k12.nd.us

Parshall
Susie Simpson, Site Mentor
Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College    
501 N Main St
Parshall, ND 58770
701-627-4738, Ext. 8081
ssimps@nhsc.edu
 

White Shield
Raymond Grady, Site Mentor
Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College
2 2nd Ave W
Roseglen, ND 58775
701-743-4552
lhosie@nhsc.edu

Standing Rock Area

McLaughlin High School
*Currently no contact    
McLaughlin High School
701 Main St
McLaughlin, SD 57642
605-823-4886


Selfridge High School
Juanita Hintz, secretary
210 2nd Ave. South
Selfridge, ND  58568
juanita.hintz@k12.nd.us

Standing Rock Middle School
*Currently no contact
9189 Highway 24
Fort Yates, ND 58538
701-854-3819, Ext. 2125

 

Wakpala High School
Rebecca LeFebre, Aimsweb Coordinator
12250 SD Hwy 1806
Wakpala, SD  57658
rebecca.lefebre@k12.sd.us

Solen High School
Corey Morin, Science Teacher
Solen High School
902 East Broadway
Solen, ND 58570
701-445-3331
corey.m.morin@sendit.nodak.edu

 

 

 

Spirit Lake Area
Four Winds High School
John Lohnes, Science Teacher
Four Winds High School
7268 Hwy 57
Fort Totten, ND 58335
701-766-1400
john.lohnes@k12.nd.us
Minnewaukan Public School
Daniel Tuhy, Science Instructor
Minnewaukan Public School
4675 N Hwy. 281
Minnewaukan, ND 58351
701-473-5306
dan.tuhy@k12.nd.us

Warwick High School
TBD, Principal
Warwick High School
210 4th Avenue
Warwick, ND 58381
701-294-2561
tara.thomas@k12.nd.us

Turtle Mountain Area
Dunseith High School
*Currently no contact
101 2nd Ave SW
Dunseith, ND  58329





Turtle Mountain Community High School
Jason Laducer                          
jason.laducer@k12.nd.us                                                                           
Gary Thomas
gary.thomas@k12.nd.us

P.O. Box 440
Belcourt, ND 58316
701-477-6471


State Steering Committee

The State Steering Committee is composed of individuals with representation from the North Dakota State Board of Higher Education; legislative branches; North Dakota Commerce and Public Instruction Departments; tribal college, primarily undergraduate, master’s college/university and research university campuses; as well as private business and technology parks. The committee's directives are to

  • Provide direction to ND EPSCoR regarding research in focal areas that are based on the strengths of our research universities. 
  • Contribute to North Dakota's Science and Technology Plan (S&T Plan). One of the requirements of NSF EPSCoR is that each state develop and approve an S&T Plan that provides a broad perspective of the economic and educational goals of the state.
  • Ensure that North Dakota's NSF RII Track-1 efforts are meeting the needs of the state and reflect the priorities laid out in the S&T Plan.

Casey Ryan, Committee Chair, M.D.
Member, State Board of Higher Education
Endocrinology and Internal Medicine
Altru Health System, Grand Forks
casey.ryan.2@ndus.edu

Twyla Baker, Committee Vice Chair, Ph.D.
President
Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College
tbaker@nhsc.edu

Representative Thomas Beadle
Republican
District 27, Fargo
tbeadle@nd.gov

Andre DeLorme, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Science Department
Valley City State University
andre.delorme@vcsu.edu

Randy Gerhold
Private Sector Representative
Partner Engineering Manager
Microsoft
randy.gerhold@microsoft.com

Mark Hoffmann, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research, College of Arts & Sciences
Chester Fritz Distinguished Professor, Chemistry
University of North Dakota
mark.hoffmann@und.edu

Senator Ray Holmberg
Republican
District 17, Grand Forks
rholmberg@nd.gov

Brian Kalk, Ph.D.
Executive Director
NDSU Research and Technology Park
brian@ndsuresearchpark.com

James Leiman, Ph.D.
Director, Economic Development & Finance,
Workforce Development
North Dakota Department of Commerce
jleiman@nd.gov

Representative Corey Mock
Democrat
District 18, Grand Forks
crmock@nd.gov

Senator Merrill Piepkorn
Democrat
District 44, Fargo
mpiepkorn@nd.gov

Matthew Scherbenske
Assistant Director
Office of Academic Support
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
mscherbenske@nd.gov

Jane Schuh, Ph.D.
Vice President, Research and Creative Activity
North Dakota State University
jane.schuh@ndsu.edu

Amy Whitney, Ed.D.
Director, Center for Innovation
University of North Dakota
amy.whitney@und.edu

Kelly A. Rusch, Ph.D., P.E.,  BCEE (ex-officio member)
ND EPSCoR Executive State Director and PI
Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
North Dakota State University
kelly.rusch@ndsu.edu

John Mihelich, Ph.D. (ex-officio member)
ND EPSCoR Associate Project Director and Co-PI
Interim Vice President for Research and Economic Development/Faculty Fellow
Division of Research & Economic Development
University of North Dakota
john.mihelich@und.edu

Jean Ostrom-Blonigen, Ph.D., CPA (ex-officio member)
ND EPSCoR State Project Administrator and Co-PI    
ND EPSCoR State Office
North Dakota State University
jean.ostrom@ndus.edu

NSF RII Track-1 External Advisory Board

The NSF RII Track-1 External Advisory Board (EAB) is composed of seven individuals from universities and organizations outside of North Dakota who provide insight and support for the current Track-1 effort.

NSF RII Track-1 External Advisory Board

Kathryn Uhrich, Ph.D.; Board Chair
Dean
College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
University of California - Riverside
kathryn.uhrich@ucr.edu 

James Kenar, Ph.D.; Board Co-chair
Research Chemist
USDA Agriculture Research Service
National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research
jim.kenar@ars.usda.gov



Ann Marie Chischilly, LL.M.
Executive Director
Institute for Tribal Environmental Professionals    
Northern Arizona University
ann-marie.chischilly@nau.edu

Diana Dalbotten, Ph.D.
Program Director, REU on Sustainable Land and Water Resources
Director of Diversity and Broader Impacts
St. Anthony Falls Laboratory
University of Minnesota
dianad@umn.edu



Yannick Huot, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Applied Geomatics Department
Université de Sherbrooke
yannick.huot@usherbrooke.ca

Amy Landis, Ph.D.
Professor, Endowed Chair
Glenn Department of Civil Engineering
Director, Institute for Sustainability
Clemson University
alandis@clemson.edu



Lynn Russell, Ph.D.
Professor, Atmospheric Chemistry
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California - San Diego
lmrussell@ucsd.edu



NSF RII Track-1 EMPOWERED-ND Corps

NSF RII Track-1 EMPOWERED-ND Corps is composed of individuals from across the state of North Dakota whose efforts expand diversity, enhance educational and workforce development outreach, and increase partnerships, collaborations, and communication within the current Track-1 research. Many of the EMPOWERED-ND Corps members also participate in one of the Track-1 research centers- either the Center for Sustainable Materials Science (CSMS) or the Center for Regional Climate Studies (CRCS).

NSF RII Track-1 EMPOWERED-ND Corps
Scott Hanson, Ph.D.
EMPOWERED-ND Corps Chair
ND EPSCoR Tribal Colleges Liaison Manager
701-231-8606
scott.martin.hanson@ndus.edu
Shireen Alemadi
EMPOWERED-ND Vice Chair
ND EPSCoR STEM Manager
701-231-8264
shireen.alemadi@ndus.edu


Mikhail Bobylev, Ph.D.
Minot State University PI / CSMS Researcher
Professor, Chemistry
mikhail.bobylev@minotstateu.edu
Eric Brevik, Ph.D.
Dickinson State University PI / CRCS Researcher
Professor, Geology and Soils
eric.brevik@dickinsonstate.edu


Andre DeLorme, Ph.D
Valley City State University PI / CRCS Researcher
Professor, Science, VCSU
Director of Prairie Waters Education / Research Center
andre.delorme@vcsu.edu

Mandy Guinn, M.S.
United Tribes Technical College (UTTC) PI / CRCS Researcher
Chair and Instructor, Environmental Science
mguinn@uttc.edu



Kerry Hartman, Ph.D.
Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College (NHSC) PI / Site Coordinator - NATURE /  CRCS Researcher 
Academic Dean and Chair, Science
khartm@nhsc.edu
Khwaja Hossain, Ph.D.
Mayville State University PI / CSMS Researcher
Professor, Biology
k.hossain@mayvillestate.edu


Lisa Johnson
North Dakota University System (NDUS) Member
Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs
lisa.a.johnson@ndus.edu
Aaron Kennedy, Ph.D.
CRCS Researcher / CRCS Co-lead
Assistant Professor, Atmospheric Sciences
University of North Dakota
kennedy@aero.und.edu


Terri Martin-Parisien, Ph.D.
Turtle Mountain Community College (TMCC) PI
Academic Dean
tmartinparisien@tm.edu
Rachel Navarro, Ph.D.
Education and Workforce Development Co-Lead and CRCS / CSMS K-12 Coordinator
Associate Professor, Counseling
Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development
University of North Dakota
rachel.navarro@und.edu


Mafany Ndiva Mongoh, Ph.D.
Sitting Bull College (SBC) PI
Ag/Science Faculty
Site Coordinator - NATURE
mafany.mongoh@sittingbull.edu

Mukund Sibi, Ph.D.
CSMS Researcher, CSMS Co-Lead
Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
North Dakota State University
mukund.sibi@ndsu.edu



Chad Ulven, Ph.D.
Diversity Co-lead and CSMS Researcher
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
North Dakota State University
chad.ulven@ndsu.ed

Brent Voels, Ph.D.
Candeska Cikana Community College (CCCC) PI / CSMS Researcher
Instructor, Science
brent.voels@littlehoop.edu


EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS

Austin Allard, Ph.D.
TMCC Site Coordinator - NATURE / CSMS Researcher
Pre-engineering Instructor
allard@tm.edu

John Mihelich, Ph.D.
ND EPSCoR Associate Project Director
Interim Vice President for Research and Economic Development and VP Research
University of North Dakota
701-777-7589
john.mihelich@und.edu

Jean Ostrom-Blonigen, Ph.D., CPA
ND EPSCoR Project Administrator
ND EPSCoR State Office
701-231-7516
jean.ostrom@ndus.edu