Frequently Asked Questions

What is EPSCoR?
The Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) is a federal program. The National Science Foundation (NSF) Act of 1950 recognized the value of a broad science and engineering ecosystem across all jurisdictions (states and other U.S. entities). Over time, however, the distribution of research funds became concentrated in a few geographical areas. In response to this imbalance, the National Science Board created a task force in 1977 to examine the geographical distribution of funds. In FY79, the National Science Board approved a resolution that created the Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) to ensure NSF was meeting the spirit of the National Science Foundation Act of 1950. The first sets of NSF EPSCoR awards were made in 1979.

What is the Track-1?
The main NSF research infrastructure improvement (RII) award is the RII Track-1 cooperative agreement. The Track-1 program is a federal-state partnership, which requires a state financial commitment or match to compete for the federal dollars. The Track-1 is a jurisdictional award meant to build research capacity and competitiveness across the entire state. New Discoveries in the Advanced Interface of Computation, Engineering, and Science (ND-ACES) is ND EPSCoR’s National Science Foundation cooperative agreements. The cooperative agreement carries an 80/20% federal/state match.


MCU: Masters College or University
PUI: Primarily Undergraduate Institution
RU: Research University
TCU: Tribal College or University