ND EPSCoR State Steering Committee

The ND EPSCoR State Steering Committee is composed of individuals with representation from the North Dakota State Board of Higher Education; legislative branches; North Dakota Commerce and Public Instruction Departments; tribal college, primarily undergraduate, master’s college/university, and research university campuses; as well as private business and research university technology parks. There is currently one vacancy in representation from the legislative branch. The committee's directives are to

  • Provide direction to ND EPSCoR regarding research in focal areas that are based on the strengths of our research universities. 
  • Contribute to North Dakota's Science and Technology Plan (S&T Plan). One of the requirements of NSF EPSCoR is that each state develop and approve an S&T Plan that provides a broad perspective of the economic and educational goals of the state.
  • Ensure that North Dakota's NSF RII Track-1 efforts are meeting the needs of the state and reflect the priorities laid out in the S&T Plan.

John Warford, Committee Chair, DDS.
Member, State Board of Higher Education
Committee Appointed by NDUS Chancellor
Warford Orthodontics, Bismarck

Representative Corey Mock
Term End: 06/30/2023
District 18, Grand Forks

Twyla Baker, Committee Vice Chair, Ph.D.
Term End: 06/30/2026
Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College

Senator Merrill Piepkorn
Term End: 06/30/2023
District 44, Fargo

Representative Vicky Steiner
Term End: 06/30/2026
District 37, Dickinson

Steve Snow
Assistant Director
Committee Appointed
School Approval & Organization
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Andre DeLorme, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Science Department
Term End: 06/30/2026
Valley City State University

Colleen Fitzgerald, Ph.D.
Vice President, Research and Creative Activity
Committee Appointed
North Dakota State University

Meagan Gelinske
a) Independent Consultant
b) Investment Advisor
Term End: 06/30/2026
a) Self Employed
b) Future Bright LLC

Amy Whitney, Ed.D.
Director, Center for Innovation
Committee Appointed
University of North Dakota

Chris Nelson, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Graduate School
Committee Appointed
Associate Professor, Graduate School
University of North Dakota

Kelly A. Rusch, Ph.D., P.E.,  BCEE (ex-officio member)
ND EPSCoR Executive State Director and PI
Professor; Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
North Dakota State University

Brian Kalk, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Committee Appointed
NDSU Research and Technology Park

John Mihelich, Ph.D. (ex-officio member)
ND EPSCoR Associate Project Director and Co-PI
Interim Vice President for Research and Economic Development/Faculty Fellow
Division of Research & Economic Development
University of North Dakota

James Leiman, Ph.D.
North Dakota State Commerce Commissioner
Committee Appointed

Jean Ostrom-Blonigen, Ph.D., CPA (ex-officio member)
ND EPSCoR State Project Administrator and Co-PI
ND EPSCoR State Office
North Dakota State University

Science & Technology Plan Sub-Committee

One of the requirements of NSF EPSCoR is that each state develop and approve an S&T Plan that provides a broad perspective of the economic and educational goals of the state. The Science & Technology Plan Sub-Committee is a sub-committee of the ND EPSCoR State Steering Committee.

Sub-Committee Membership

Andre DeLorme, Ph.D., Sub-Committee Chair
Francis Casey, Ph.D., representing North Dakota State University
Meagan Gelinske
Chris Nelson
, Ph.D.
Karol Riedman, representing the North Dakota University System
Jerry Rostad, representing the North Dakota University System
Representative Vicky Steiner
Joshua Teigen
, representing Commerce
John Warford, DDS.
Kelly Rusch, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE (ex-officio)