

REQUEST FOR PROPOSALS Travel Awards for ND EPSCoR RII Track-1 CRCS and CSMS Participants

Issued: November 15, 2018 Deadline: January 15, 2019 or until funding is exhausted

Limited Funding Available: Early Proposals Encouraged

TO: ND EPSCoR RII Track-1 Faculty Participants FROM: ND EPSCoR State Office

RFP printable version

Purpose:

EPSCoR's mission is to support efforts that result in increased STEM faculty capacity and competitiveness and a stronger STEM pipeline that produces our next generation workforce and educators.

To underscore the importance of jurisdictional collaborations in the sustainability of ND EPSCoR's current RII Track-1 centers for regional climate studies (CRCS) and sustainable materials science (CSMS), NSF has approved the funding for 3-5 travel seed awards of up to \$5,000 to travel to another EPSCoR jurisdiction for the purpose of pursuing research collaborations in climate studies or sustainable materials.

Eligibility:

CRCS and CSMS faculty participants at any of the 11 ND EPSCoR campuses: 1) Cankdeska Cikana Community College, 2) Dickinson State University, 3) Mayville State University, 4) Minot State University, 5) Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College, 6) North Dakota State University, 7) Sitting Bull College, 8) Turtle Mountain Community College, 9) United Tribes Technical College, 10) University of North Dakota, or 11) Valley City State University.

Evaluation Criteria: Proposals will be evaluated in weekly batches until funding is exhausted beginning November 20, 2018. Evaluation criteria will include:

- Qualification(s) of the PI(s)
- Soundness of the approach
- Potential for achieving the stated technical goals

Proposal must address the following:

- Description of the research and research team, including its alignment with CRCS or CSMS goals as outlined in the INSPIRE-ND Strategic Plan https://www.ndepscor.ndus.edu/fileadmin/ndus/ndepscor/documents/Track1StrategicPlanMar2018.pdf
- Name and affiliation of your collaborators from an EPSCoR jurisdiction (provided <u>HERE</u> is a list of current NSF EPSCoR research participants; however, any faculty member from these jurisdictions would be eligible to participate in your research).
- Federal agency (including program name and due date) to which the proposal will be submitted.
- A short description of the long-term plans for this collaboration. Travel must be completed by June 15, 2019.

Questions: If you have any questions, please contact Kelly A. Rusch <u>kelly.rusch@ndsu.edu</u> or Jean Ostrom-Blonigen <u>jean.ostrom@ndus.edu</u>.

Proposal Submission: Please send electronic proposals to Kelly A. Rusch with copies to Jean Ostrom-Blonigen and Janelle Smith <u>janelle.smith@ndsu.edu</u>.